Celia Hammond MP


Celia Hammond was elected as the fifth member for the Federal Electorate of Curtin in Western Australia in the 2019 Federal Election.

Celia was born in Northam, Western Australia, and moved to the Perth suburb of City Beach at the age of 10. She has lived in various parts of the Curtin electorate for all but 4 years since that time.

She completed her secondary education at John XXIII College and tertiary studies at the University of Western Australia (graduating in 1991 with a Bachelor of Laws and in 1996 with a Masters in Law). She was awarded an Honorary Doctorate by the University of Portland in 2017.

Celia was admitted as a legal practitioner in Western Australia in 1992. She worked as a lawyer in private practice for a number of years before moving into a career as a legal academic. She lectured at the University of Western Australia from 1994 to 1998, before accepting a position at the University of Notre Dame Australia’s newly established Fremantle School of Law. She was subsequently promoted to head of the law school, before moving into the University’s management team in 2003, taking on various positions and responsibilities including Legal Counsel and Deputy Vice Chancellor.

In 2008, Celia was appointed Vice Chancellor of the University of Notre Dame Australia, a position she held until she resigned in February 2019 to enter politics.

Celia is married with 3 teenage sons.


Elected to the House of Representatives for Curtin, Western Australia, 2019


Joint Statutory: Corporations and Financial Services from 4.7.2019; Human Rights from 4.7.2019  

Joint Select: Implementation of the National Redress Scheme from 10.2.2020

House of Representatives Standing: Employment, Education and Training from 4.7.2019; Indigenous Affairs from 4.7.2029


LLB (Hons) from the University of Western Australia

LLM from the University of Western Australia

Honorary Doctorate from the University of Portland

Solicitor from 1992 to 1994

Legal Academic from 1994 to 2003

Legal Counsel from 2003 to 2008

University Vice Chancellor from 2008 to 2019