Celia Hammond MP


Curtin was created in 1949 and named after a magnificent Australian, wartime Prime Minister Sir John Curtin. There have been four previous members, all outstanding in their service to the people of Curtin, the state of Western Australia and the nation more generally: Sir Paul Hasluck, Sir Vic Garland, Mr Allan Rocher and the Hon. Julie Bishop.

The area of Curtin is 98 square kilometres, bounded to the west by the Indian Ocean and the best beaches in the world—Cottesloe, North Cott, Swanny, City Beach, Floreat and Scarborough—to the south and south-east by the magnificent Swan River, and to the east and north by roads which are critical parts of the Perth transport network.

Curtin is rightly known for its natural beauty: leafy green suburbs, vast tracts of natural bushland, some spectacular lakes, and beautiful natural flora and fauna.

Curtin is home to a thriving local community with many sporting clubs, schools and grass roots membership organisations and service clubs dedicated to helping others.

Families in all their shapes and sizes are the lifeblood of Curtin.

We have over 50 schools, one university and a number of vocational training providers. 11 hospitals, a mix of private and public, serving the people of Perth and beyond—some incredible health research institutions and over 40 aged-care service providers.

We are home to the SAS at the Campbell Barracks in Swanbourne and to the Irwin Barracks in Karrakatta.

Curtin is also home to hardworking business owners with over 26,000 small and medium businesses operating in Curtin, employing thousands of people from across the wider Perth region.

By working together we can continue to build an even better community.


Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.

Location description

Curtin covers an area west of Perth, bordered by the Indian Ocean in the west and the Swan River in the south. The suburbs include Churchlands, City Beach, Claremont, Cottesloe, Crawley, Daglish, Dalkeith, Doubleview, Floreat, Glendalough, Herdsman, Innaloo, Jolimont, Karrakatta, Karrinyup (part), Mount Claremont, Mosman Park, Osborne Park (part), Nedlands, Peppermint Grove, Scarborough (part), Shenton Park, Swanbourne, Subiaco, West Leederville, Wembley, Wembley Downs and Woodlands.


98 sq km

Industries of the Area

Industries include medical, education, retail, recreation, light industrial, professional services, commercial, and hospitality.